Left the master on...

How to keep the Cessna 170 flying and airworthy.

Moderators: GAHorn, Karl Towle, Bruce Fenstermacher

dstates

Left the master on...

Post by dstates »

So... I did it. I left my master switch on for two days and ran down my battery. That ended up not being a big deal. I connected a charger and not much later it started up like a champ.

My dilemma is, apparently my Hobbs meter runs when the master switch is turned on and I gained 48 hours of Hobbs time. How do I (or do I need to) document this?

I’m new to airplane ownership. Does Hobbs time even matter or is everything airframe and engine based on Tach Time?

Thanks!
Doug
N1235D - 1951 170A - SN: 20118
gfeher

Re: Left the master on...

Post by gfeher »

Airframe and engine time recorded in the logbooks are actual times calculated from tach time. If the tach is original to the plane from the beginning, tach and actual time will be the same. But if the tach was replaced at some point with a zero time tach (like happened with my plane), then time must be added to the tach time to get the true total time. So, for example, my tach was replaced with a zero time recording tach at 212 hrs, so I must add 212 hrs to tach time to get actual total time. My logbook entries show tach time, then total time, which is tach time + 212. Hobbs time is irrelevant. A lot of planes (like mine) do not even have a hobbs meter. I hope this is not clear as mud.
Gene Feher
Argyle (1C3), NY
'52 170B N2315D s/n 20467 C-145-2
Experimental J3 Cub Copy N7GW O-200
wabuchanan

Post by wabuchanan »

This is one of the things I just love about the piano switches.

As long as they all line up, the Master is off.

Sorry to hear about yours being left on Doug :? :|
1950 170A N5776C SN:19730
MoonlightVFR

Post by MoonlightVFR »

I have learned too

Walk into hanger - turn on Master Switch - look at panel - some instruments light up. Don't know why.