First Annual Done

How to keep the Cessna 170 flying and airworthy.

Moderators: GAHorn, Karl Towle, Bruce Fenstermacher

IP076

First Annual Done

Post by IP076 »

Hey all,

Had the first annual completed on the new to me 53 170B I purchased this summer. The annual was signed off and things are reasonably well, the airframe is nice and clean and got complements from the IA. The engine showed signs of some future work needed.

As it's my first airplane, a lot of this is new to me. Also, I'm a pilot...I fly for a living...I'm not a mechanic...I'll tinker on my old jeep, but definitely not the most mechanically inclined person out there.

I'm looking at compressions and just wondering a few things. Here's the data:

Engine was O/H at 1149.03 Tach Time, over 30 years ago. #6 cylinder was replaced 7/2015 at 2533.5 Tach.

12/18 Annual, Tach: 2557.89, #1-68, #2-72, #3-72, #4-72, #5-65, #6-77
12/19 Annual, Tach: 2559.00, #1-67, #2-70, #3-75, #4-72, #5-66, #6-77
Last Annual (1/21), Tach: 2655.80, #1-65, #2-67. #3-55, #4-69, #5-51, #6-75

Obviously #3 and #5 are the lowest. #5 was investigated and is leaking at the exhaust valve. It's tough to make a trend out of just this year, but is there anything to them all being lower? I would have thought flying it nearly a 100 hours might have helped the situation a bit.

I bought the airplane knowing an overhaul would likely be in the not too distant future. I'd like to get a few years out of what I've got before doing such, simply because I'd like to evaluate options of keeping the C145 or dropping the coin on an STC option.

What do you guys think about the data? Anything to do immediately? Fly it and see if anything comes up? For the record, the IA didn't seem too concerned about anything other than #5 and that was simply fly it until you notice a difference, and be ready to maybe swap the cylinder next year. What, if anything, should I be doing to help in my case?

Appreciate your feedback.
johneeb

Re: First Annual Done