Master bus issue

How to keep the Cessna 170 flying and airworthy.

Moderators: GAHorn, Karl Towle, Bruce Fenstermacher

dstates

Master bus issue

Post by dstates »

Looking for some help with more electrical troubleshooting. I have a standard master switch driven contactor with a pull starter setup. Lately it seems like my battery contactor is a little weak. I replaced my master switch at the last annual because of this issue, but it must not have been the switch. What happens is I turn on the master switch and I see power go to a couple instruments and then when I pull the starter the starter does nothing and the master bus is no longer powered. I have always been able to get it to start by cycling the master switch a time or two. Am I right thinking that it is he contactor that is acting up? Or could it be a weak battery? The battery voltage before I pull the starter is not all 12.4-12.6V.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Doug
N1235D - 1951 170A - SN: 20118
Bruce Fenstermacher

Re: Master bus issue

Post by Bruce Fenstermacher »

Doug,

Sounds to me like the contacts in the solenoid/relay are crusty/burnt. If you have the original square plastic covered solenoid, you would be able to remove the cover and file/clean the contacts. Likely you have the metal can style solenoid and for all the best depression era farm tractor mechanic, they are not serviceable.

What I think is happening is the contacts are making contact but only by a few hairs. Enough to run the low amp gauges and lights. But when the starter is engaged the higher amp load burns the fuzz making contact and the electrons stop flowing till the next time you cycle the relay. You could confirm this with a multimeter. With the master on voltage would be flowing to all the low load stuff including the starter motor switch. But pull in that starter switch and the fuzz burns and no more voltage getting through the master relay.
CAUTION - My forum posts may be worth what you paid for them!