Skis on a Cessna 170

How to keep the Cessna 170 flying and airworthy.

Moderators: GAHorn, Karl Towle, Bruce Fenstermacher

AK170Ragwing

Skis on a Cessna 170

Post by AK170Ragwing »

I know that there are a couple of threads on this subject and it seems to me that the Federal AWB 2500 Skis are thought to be the best option for the 170? I was curious what I should expect to pay for a nice pair of these skis? Does the 170 have enough power with a stock C145 engine installed with a set of skis on the airplane or is it too underpowered? I'm sure it's not ideal but is it adequate power wise? I have zero experience with skis on aircraft except when I was stationed up in Alaska and we had skis on our Blackhawks. Looking for insight in what I should look for if I want to put a set of skis on my 48 ragwing in the future. Just trying to make an informed decision before I start looking to make a large purchase. Thanks for all the help and expertise.
brianm

Re: Skis on a Cessna 170

Post by brianm »

A set of very nice looking Federal AWB 2500s just popped up today on the Facebook "Bush and Float Plane Classifieds" group. Asking price for skis, axles, and pump is $9,800. I'm no expert but that seems in line with what I've seen in the past.
Brian M
N2669V - '48
dogone

Post by dogone »

I have skis on my 170b . Hydraulic a2500a . With 180 hp and constant speed prop they are a lot of fun. A buddy had them o n his 170 with 145hp and he felt two on board was all it was safe for.
Bill_Green

Post by Bill_Green »