How big of a dent is too big??

How to keep the Cessna 170 flying and airworthy.

Moderators: GAHorn, Karl Towle, Bruce Fenstermacher

abushey123

How big of a dent is too big??

Post by abushey123 »

Hey guys/gals. I'm new to the world of 170s. Recently scooped up a 1953 170b for not a lot of money but it is looking a little tender in a few spots. The area in question is the leading edge on the horizontal. Currently there is a dent in the leading edge about the size of a golf ball just outboard of where the spar ends. It is pushed in just so the bottom skin has a small wave in it. Curious if anyone has the published limits or knows if this is acceptable. I have had a few mechanics look at it. Half say its fine, half say its not. Just looking to clear it up. If anyone has a pdf of the 100 series maintenance manual that would be a wonderful help!!
GAHorn

Re: How big of a dent is too big??

Post by GAHorn »

abushey123 wrote:Hey guys/gals. I'm new to the world of 170s. Recently scooped up a 1953 170b for not a lot of money but it is looking a little tender in a few spots. The area in question is the leading edge on the horizontal. Currently there is a dent in the leading edge about the size of a golf ball just outboard of where the spar ends. It is pushed in just so the bottom skin has a small wave in it. Curious if anyone has the published limits or knows if this is acceptable. I have had a few mechanics look at it. Half say its fine, half say its not. Just looking to clear it up. If anyone has a pdf of the 100 series maintenance manual that would be a wonderful help!!
A Picture would certainly be helpful. The applicable “maintenance manual” for the 170 airplane is known as the “Cessna 100 Series Service Manual, 1962 and Prior”, which has a “Structural Repair” section containing some guidance of a general nature. Another useful document is the Cessna Structural Repair Manual for later aircraft (172, 182, etc.)