Flap assisted take off

A place to relax and discuss flying topics.

Moderators: GAHorn, Karl Towle, Bruce Fenstermacher

Richgj3

Flap assisted take off

Post by Richgj3 »

So it’s blowing 25 KTS gusts to 40 here and 20 F so I’m sitting here watching YouTube videos of guys going in and out of small places in their 170’s. I notice several times they start the roll with one notch and then when the tail comes up they pull on the flap handle and then reduce the flaps when off. Anybody here do that and have any tips? I don’t normally fly in and out of anything less than 2000 feet and I’m a sea level pilot for the most part. I flew a 58 172 taildragger for years and never tried that then. Or had any reason to.
I’m wondering your thoughts on the technique.
Rich Giannotti CFI-A. CFI-I SE.
1952 C170B
N2444D s/n 20596
brianm

Re: Flap assisted take off

Post by brianm »

I don't do serious short-field work, but my normal short or soft field technique is to start clean, pull in full flaps around 35-40 mph to help "pop" the plane into ground effect, accelerate, reduce one notch once I'm into the green arc, then take all the flaps out once I'm climbing away. I'm not exactly sure of the speed where I put the flaps in, it's by feel. And I fly a ragwing. I suspect an A model would work similar, a B maybe not.
Brian M
N2669V - '48
Bruce Fenstermacher

Post by Bruce Fenstermacher »

Rich, there are extremely practiced pilots so proficient in applying flaps and reducing them at the exact correct time all while perfectly controlling their aircraft, all in order to squeeze the best effort the aircraft can do. And then there is the rest of us.

Most of us can not control our aircraft proficiently enough while we fool with flaps to gain anything. Fact is we often lose performance over that which we would get if we just set the flaps and left them and proficiently flew the plane.