Just bought a mothballed 1952 170b

How to keep the Cessna 170 flying and airworthy.

Moderators: GAHorn, Karl Towle, Bruce Fenstermacher

sanships

Just bought a mothballed 1952 170b

Post by sanships »

Hello guys, I have been reading most of the forum and have been very pleased with the information that you have been able to gather. I am a 150 hr pilot that was looking for a fun plane to hop around the islands. I found a low time, hangared 170b in a small private airstrip in central Philippines that was bought new by current owner and have flown only about 949 tach hours since then. Original owner is still alive at 84 and was forced to sell the plane by his sons who don't fly. Aircraft is in fairly good condition and was flying till 1999. I have a few questions that I hope can be answered here, I would really appreciate your comments.

1) Since it is the original engine that came with the plane, should I consider overhauling it now or wait till it reaches TBO? It's been more than 51 years, I am somewhat apprehensive of the reliability of the engine. And if so, who in the US would be the best place to send it to and how much for the full overhaul? Can I still find all the parts/accessories for this engine?
Local mechanic that used to maintain her says she runs fine and can be made airworthy in just 30 days. Still I'm not comfortable flying behind such an old engine!
2) What airframe mods are a "must have" to increase safety margins in landings? :D
3) Where can I send the instruments of this vintage to be overhauled in the US?
4) Has anyone installed flint tip tanks to extend range?
5) How much for a full interior redo with matching period designs?
6) Where can I find original pictures of the interior and panels for restoration?
7) I would like to keep everything as original as possible, Does being original help in future resale value?