Pre-Buy in Oregon, Cessna 170A

How to keep the Cessna 170 flying and airworthy.

Moderators: GAHorn, Karl Towle, Bruce Fenstermacher

JF1200

Pre-Buy in Oregon, Cessna 170A

Post by JF1200 »

Hello everyone,
I am new to the forum, and also the association. I am a student pilot learning to fly out of a small airstrip (7S9) in Oregon’s Willamette Valley and just about ready for my check ride. I have been combing the forum for information and, well, there’s lots…pretty cool!!

A few weeks ago, I was presented with an opportunity to become the proud owner of a 1950, 170A - I pulled the trigger and am really excited. That said, I am working through the buying process and need to find someone to look my new prospect over. My goal is to steer away from the average “standard” inspection, but rather find someone who knows all about 170’s - a true pro in the world of 170 maintenance (who is also an A&P with the appropriate credentials to take care of the inspection) and maybe even passionate about classic Cessna aircraft…seems like there might be a few of you here;). I am of course willing to pay for travel if it makes sense. Any suggestions?

Thanks,
Jon
voorheesh

Re: Pre-Buy in Oregon, Cessna 170A

Post by voorheesh »

I’m kind of surprised nobody has responded to your request for suggestions, so I’ll take a crack at it while also telling you there are others here more qualified.