Newbie Questions on the 170B

How to keep the Cessna 170 flying and airworthy.

Moderators: GAHorn, Karl Towle, Bruce Fenstermacher

aoresteen

Newbie Questions on the 170B

Post by aoresteen »

I'm a newbie and I have a bunch of questions. I have decided to get a 170B (my other choices were a Luscombe 8F and a Piper Cub J3). My wife and I would like to fly from the Orlando area to south Atlanta regulary. This distance is about 350 NM. At 65% power and at 7,500 feet I should make it ok (specs say I should get 376 NM with a reserve). I should make 109 knots so the trip should take about 3.5 hours flight time.

1. Am I correct in my calculations or should I estimate a longer flight time?

2. Will I get a longer range if I get a 170B with a 190/210 hp engine? Or will higher fuel consumption make it wash?

3. With a 190/210 hp engine, what would my airspeed and fuel consumption be assuming 65% power and 7,500 feel altitude?

4. Realistically, with two adults and suitecases, how much fuel could I carry? Figure 400lbs for the adults and 150 lbs for the suitcases total of 550 lbs load.

6. I am a ham radio operator. Does anyone know of an aircraft radio that also includes the ham bands?

Many thanks in advance!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tony Oresteen
KG4SPA
doug8082a

Post by doug8082a »

I can't answer all of them, but I'll take a stab at a few:

1. I'd average it at 100kts. taking into account time to climb to 7500' from (nearly) sea level and the fact that not all planes/pilots perform to spec.

2. Engine conversions in the 170 generally add climb performance due to the addition of a constant speed prop. Someone who's actually done the 210hp conversion can answer this better, but I don't believe there's much gain in airspeed. Fuel consumption would certainly be higher with that engine and your wallet would be $30k lighter from doing the conversion (if it wasn't done already).