Federal 3000 Wheel Skis

A place to relax and discuss flying topics.

Moderators: GAHorn, Karl Towle, Bruce Fenstermacher

jaime72

Federal 3000 Wheel Skis

Post by jaime72 »

Who here is running the Federal 3000 wheel skis? What paperwork is required? Opinions? Problems? Suggestions?

I am getting ready to head south to look at a '54 170B and will need to add skis right away here in AK. Looking at a pair of Federal 3000's that appear to be in good condition (few photo's) for $9500.

Thanks,

Jaime
flat country pilot

Re: Federal 3000 Wheel Skis

Post by flat country pilot »

I have been researching skis and am close to buying some, here is some of what I have found.

First, I have ZERO experience with skis, therefore this info may be worth just that much.

I have not totally ruled out wheel penetration skis, but I don't believe my mighty 145hp 0300 is enough for them. In most cases 145hp may be ok, but the one time its not is probably when I would need the performance the most. I think the protruding tires and additional weight would just be a big drag.

Maybe the plane your looking at has more ponies upfront.

I have not considered hydraulic skis but did think about two position skis, Aero R2800. The Aero R2800 you place in the ski position on the ground, in the air they have a cable to pull and the spring moves them into the wheel position. $6,500 to $7,000. Again more weight and hardware on my little plane.

I am leaning towards the Aero 2000 straight ski. They are 20lbs each, less drag than wheel penetration skis, and about $2,500 new with poly bottoms and rigging. (tax and shipping, extra) They obviously limit where I can land, but I think will be the best ski for my situation.

Haven't bought them yet, still researching the Landis penetraion ski.