100 LL

A place to relax and discuss flying topics.

Moderators: GAHorn, Karl Towle, Bruce Fenstermacher

km74

100 LL

Post by km74 »

I have read alot of posts in all forums about people having problems with stuck valves and fouled plugs using 100 LL. Is there anyone who hasn't had problems with avgas? I've used only avgas on my 170 and on my 120 before and had no problems, but I have a limited number of flying hours on both. I am a little reluctant to use autofuel unless I have to. Any responses will be appreciated.

Ken
N1478D

Post by N1478D »

I've been burning mostly mogas now for many months. Stopped for a short while after the stuck valve. A conversation led me to try again because I had not been using MMO with the mogas before. Have not had any problems so far after probably 80 - 100 hours since the stuck valve and I religously(sp) add the MMO to the mogas. The advice I have received from people that I trust is that I am enjoying false economy. The long term damage is higher than the short term fuel cost savings. Obviously, I am not following that advice, but have been told a 60% mogas, 40% avgas mixture would be the best for the engine when using mogas. DFW is one of the areas that has the pollution penalty. Worse ingredients are in the fuel here than out away from the metroplex. The plane runs fine, in fact, when I race George I plan on running mogas right on by him. :wink: Others that I know are also burning mogas without any known problems. Some of them have been doing it for years. Move to GPM and we'll share the costs and savings of building a fuel trailer. :lol:
Joe
51 C170A
Grand Prairie, TX
flyguy

TOO MANY TOPICS

Post by flyguy »

Last edited by flyguy on Thu Jan 23, 2003 10:53 am, edited 1 time in total.
N1478D

Re: TOO MANY TOPICS

Post by N1478D »

flyguy wrote:JOE AND KEN.