Franklin Conversion: Should I?

How to keep the Cessna 170 flying and airworthy.

Moderators: GAHorn, Karl Towle, Bruce Fenstermacher

sj

Franklin Conversion: Should I?

Post by sj »

Folks,

The O-300 at 80SMOH is a peachy little engine, but frankly, the 170B is a bit pokey for x-c flying. I am considering the Franklin Conversion and will have an 80 hour O-300 Firewall forward for sale if I do.

What are your thoughts on the conversion? (sorry, I am not a purist, I am a also supercub driver who things mods are the ticket to making a silk purse from a sow's ear)... :wink:

I did a search and did not find much on the subject. I frankly (no pun intended) love the 170. I dont' want to sell it an buy a 180 or 185, I LIKE IT. However, if I need to "get a brain" let me know!

Thanks!

sj
1952 170B
Steve Johnson
Lake Waukomis, MO
Email: Steve (at) Supercub (dot) Org
pdb

Re: Franklin Conversion: Should I?

Post by pdb »

sj wrote:Folks,

The O-300 at 80SMOH is a peachy little engine, but frankly, the 170B is a bit pokey for x-c flying. I am considering the Franklin Conversion and will have an 80 hour O-300 Firewall forward for sale if I do.

What are your thoughts on the conversion? (sorry, I am not a purist, I am a also supercub driver who things mods are the ticket to making a silk purse from a sow's ear)... :wink:

If you fly Cubs, that's a good attitude to have.....

I did a search and did not find much on the subject. I frankly (no pun intended) love the 170. I dont' want to sell it an buy a 180 or 185, I LIKE IT. However, if I need to "get a brain" let me know!

Thanks!

sj
If you want to bit a 180, buy a 180. Why spend all this money on a 180 and end up with a 170. As it is the 170 is probably the most value/dollar.
No, it doesn't go as fast as a 225 hp Franklin conversion and it won't takeoff so quickly but what it does do it does very well and cheaply.

Besides, aren't there laws against defaciing national monuments? :wink: :wink:
Pete Brown
Anchorage, Alaska