Estimated Value on this 170??

A place to relax and discuss flying topics.

Moderators: GAHorn, Karl Towle, Bruce Fenstermacher

bimmer1980

Estimated Value on this 170??

Post by bimmer1980 »

Hey guys,
I'm a newbie who just found this forum after doing some research on the Cessna 170. I recently found an auction for a 170 and I'm trying to figure out if I should go after it or not....

Here are the specs:
1948 Cessna 170, 4 passenger, Serial #18358, Reg. #N4039V. Tach time 229 hrs., TT approx. 490 hrs. MAA plate #182217. Continental Motor C-145, Motor Serial # 3695-8-2.

I'm suspecting that it would need some work... new fabric, perhaps? Engeine work? boroscope it or total rebuild? Obviously there will be a number of small items that need to be upgraded or replaced. As well as an annual inspection.

http://www.auctionzip.com/Full-Image/1110411/fp3.cgi

I plan to go look at the plane in person this week. I was also thinking about checking to see if there is an A&P here locally (York, PA) to take a look at it as well. What should a baisc pre-buy inspection cost?

Bottom Line--what ball park amount should this plane be worth? How much money does one need to allocate to get this to flyable condition?

For a newbie, should I go after this or pass on it?

Thanks!
Brad

p.s. I'm also a member of EAA and garagejournal.com. I'm not afraid of a project, but I don't want to get in over my head.
Bruce Fenstermacher

Re: Estimated Value on this 170??

Post by Bruce Fenstermacher »

WOW. Are you kidding. If you end up buying this airplane please promise to take thousands of pictures of it before you do anything to it.

Lets assume the total time is 449 hours. Lets assume it was flown 50 hours a year and then parked. That means it's been sitting since about 1957 or 54 years. 8O
We will assume there is no corrosion of the airframe, or control cables.

Here are my thoughts.