Oregon Coast Trip

A place to relax and discuss flying topics.

Moderators: GAHorn, Karl Towle, Bruce Fenstermacher

Robert Eilers

Oregon Coast Trip

Post by Robert Eilers »

I am considering a trip up the Oregon coast to the Washington border this summer. Are there any Oregonians out there who can tell me the best time of year for an Oregon coast trip.
"You have to learn how to fall before you learn how to fly"
buzzlatka

Re: Oregon Coast Trip

Post by buzzlatka »

Flying the day job this week up and down the coast I was thinking the same thing. The only clouds around were the california valley fog. Clear all the way to Seattle.

Not that I am an expert but in a former life the weather guys alway said the Portland weather was the best for flying in August.

I was thinking of going up the coast and back down inland.
markeg1964

Post by markeg1964 »

I live just west of Portland, Oregon and on a clear day we can see the Pacific Ocean from about 3,500 feet.

We joke that it rains in Portland until after the Rose Festival which ends in June – some extend that to July 4th. Looking at my log I flew twice as many times in May than in August this year – fuel prices may be part of the reason. Anyway, our weather is fairly mild so just about any time is OK from May through October although August is your best bet.